Mike D'Antoni named NBA Coach of the Year

Mike D'Antoni named NBA Coach of the Year

Mike D'Antoni named NBA Coach of the Year

This is the second time the Mullens, W.Va., native has won the award, as he received the honor in 2005 while he was the head coach of the Phoenix Suns.

Houston Rockets head coach Mike D'Antoni has been named the NBA's Coach of the Year for the 2016-17 season, which was his first year coaching the team. He is the first non-first-round pick to win the award in the common draft era.

Mike D'Antoni of the Houston Rockets looks against the San Antonio Spurs during Game Three of the NBA Western Conference Semi-Finals at Toyota Center on May 7, 2017 in Houston, Texas.

Popovich is nearly always a finalist for NBA Coach of the Year. That's almost nine points per game better for the Rockets than in the 2015-16 season. Other finalists this year were Gregg Popovich of the San Antonio Spurs and Erik Spoelstra from the Miami Heat.

Big cases, retirement rumors as Supreme Court nears finish
He is considered a conservative justice, but Kennedy has provided a crucial swing vote in many important cases. Bush in the case that essentially decided the 2000 presidential election for the GOP candidate.

Clippers' Chris Paul named to NBA All-Defensive First Team
Select from these options: Breaking News, Severe Weather, School Closings, Daily Headlines and Daily Forecasts. He is considered to be a lockdown defender on the perimeter and nearly always defends the opponents top guard.

Sprint is in talks with Comcast, Charter
Charter ended up acquiring Time Warner Cable previous year , but only at a much more expensive price than initially imagined. Three years ago, Sprint ended a previous round of talks to acquire T-Mobile amid opposition from US antitrust regulators.

Rockets guard Eric Gordon won the balloting, beating out Houston teammate Lou Williams and Iguodala. All three players gave strong contributions to their respective teams, but only one could win the NBA MVP.

Milwaukee Bucks guard Malcom Brogdon was named Rookie of the Year, while team-mate Giannis Antetokounmpo was the league's Most Improved Player.

Sportsmanship Award: Kemba Walker, Charlotte. Isaiah Thomas of the Boston Celtics claimed the NBA Cares Community Assist Award while the legendary Bill Russell claimed the NBA Lifetime Achievement Award.

Related news

[an error occurred while processing the directive]